Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Men Women
Upcoming Events
Oct 21: POR: Proliga starts
Nov 26: MLT: Division 1 starts
Jun 30: Tarragona (ESP): Mediterranean Games starts

  2005-2006     Previous season  

Last Season


EuroCup Chall. Standings
Group A
1. Apollon 4-2
2. Prostejov 4-2
3. Olimpiada 3-3
4. H.G.Elyon 1-5
Group B
1. Policarb. 4-2
2. Keravnos 4-2
3. A Plus B. 3-3
4. Boncourt 1-5
Group C
1. Samara 5-1
2. Cherkasy 4-2
3. TU/Rock 3-3
4. Njardvik 0-6
Group D
1. Dnipro 5-1
2. Mlekarna 4-2
3. Norrkoping 2-4
4. Keflavik 1-5

Stats Leaders
Points Per Game
1 Seals, U-Mobit. 22.9
2 Soltau, Keflavik 22.7
3 Shabalkin, Sam. 22.5
4 Ivey, Njardvik 21.2
5 Stefánsson, Njard.18.7
Rebounds Per Game
1 Bing, Boncourt 13.0
2 Oden, Pizzaexp.10.0
3 Stefánsson, Njard.10.0
4 Zavackas, Dnipro 9.6
5 Adeleke, Galil El. 9.0
Assists Per Game
1 Cook, Samara 6.7
2 Tomeljak, Pizzaex.4.9
3 Tsintsadze, Tartu 4.8
4 Tein, Tartu Rock 4.3
5 Vrubl, Brno 4.2
Steals Per Game
1 Lee, Keravnos 3.2
2 Block, Boncourt 3.2
3 Tein, Tartu Rock 2.2
Blocks Per Game
1 Fesenko, Cherkaski 2.0
2 Johnson, Cherkaski 1.6
3 Pelikán, Mlekarna 1.6
Field Goal Percentage
1 Shabalkin, Sam.71.7
2 Oden, Pizzaex. 68.7
3 Stefánsson, Njard.63.6
3-point %
1 Zavackas, Dnipro 54.5
2 Stec, Mlekarna 52.9
3 Butler, Prostejov 52.8
1 Williams, Keflavik 92.9
2 Ivey, Njardvik 86.4
3 King, Keravnos 84.4

CSK-VSS Samara won EuroCup Challenge 2007 (Photo: FIBA)

Valery Tikhonenko
Valery Tikhonenko
Kelvin Gibbs
Omar Cook
Giorgos Diamantopoulos
Evgeni Voronov
Nikita Shabalkin


Gibbs Kelvin 200 (6'7'') F 78


Cook Omar 186 (6'1'') G 82


Diamantopoulos G. 195 (6'5'') F 80


Voronov Evgeni 192 (6'4'') G 86


Shabalkin Nikita 204 (6'9'') F 86


Zelenskiy Gannadi 187 (6'2'') G 82


Osipov Taras 212 (7'0'') C 83


Strelkin Jaroslav 202 (6'8'') G/F 73


Likhodey Valeri 203 (6'8'') F 86


Glazunov Anton 182 (6'0'') G 86


Baranov Oleg 204 (6'9'') F 82


Ulyanko Pavel 204 (6'9'') F/C 79


Kiryanov Aleksei 206 (6'9'') F 81


Aghapov Pavel 202 (6'8'') C 86
Head Coach: Tikhonenko Valery

CSK-VSS Samara wins the cup !!!
Keravnos failed to make the dream of winning the FIBA EuroCup Challenge a reality. The Cypriot team lost 101-81 in Samara on Thursday (29/3) in the second final and couldn't defend the 85-83 win in the first game. Disappointment is there but the season is a great success for the Strovolos team who made Cyprus proud with their European appearances. Also the fact that Keravnos won a ticket for next season's FIBA EuroCup through the competition is very positive.
Second half wreck
The second half appearance wrecked Keravnos' chances of winning the title since the 44-45 lead at the end of the half turned into 71-62 a few moments before the end of the third period. The biggest lead for the Russian team came with less than a minute to go when the score was 101-79. The final 101-81 sent the home fans into jubilation for winning the European trophy.
Good Cypriot start
But Keravnos started the game in a much better fashion. The Cypriot team took the lead from the beginning and managed to create a 7 point lead twice while halfway through the second period Keravnos took a 8 point lead 33-41 mainly thanks to King and Kosanovic who had a great appearance.
The first time Samara took the lead was a few seconds to the end of the half when the home side went in front 44-43. But Trisokkas' basket with 2 seconds on the clock gave Keravnos the lead at halftime.
The second part of the match was a nightmare. The last time the Cypriot visitors had the lead was at 51-52 with King. From that point on Samara took control and with some great shooting from the three-point line (the Russians finished the game with 13/23 efforts) managed to slowly built a good lead.
Last effort
Keravnos' last effort to return in the game came with a couple of minutes remaining in the third period. The 68-57 lead for Samara was turned into a 68-62 deficit thanks to Kosanovic and Trisokkas. Along with the two-point win a week earlier in Cyprus it was 4 points behind for Keravnos. But Samara quickly retook a comfortable lead and when the score board showed 81-66 for the home side three minutes into the last period it was all over.
For the rest of the game the home side gave the chance to their fans to cheer the European trophy and even finished the game with a big 20 point win.
Samara trio
Shabalkin with 24 points and 7 rebounds and Gibbs with 21 points and 5 rebounds were the standouts alongside Giorgos Diamantopoulos who scored 22 points with 6 rebounds, covering for Cook who was behind with just 3 points but with a thumping 10 assists.
Keravnos standouts
For Keravnos four players stood out with Victor King scoring 22 points. Panagiotis Trisokkas (206-C-80) scored 15 points and gathered 6 rebounds while Kosanovic added another 16 points. Finally Patrick Lee finished the game with 13 points, 9 rebounds and 4 assists.
Samara's great shooting from the 3-point line and slight lead in rebounding and turnovers gave the win and the trophy to the Russians.
About Keravnos, a successful European campaign comes to an end with next season finding the Strovolos team in the EuroCup probably alongside AEL.
Periods: 24-26, 44-45, 71-64, 101-81
Samara: Gibbs 21 (5), Voronov 15 (1), Shabalkin 24, Strelkin, Zelenskiy 11 (3), Cook 3, Osipov 5, Diamantopoulos 22 (4).
Keravnos: Vidakovic, Trisokkas 15 (1), Makanda 6, Anastasiadis, Erjavec, Lee 13 (1), King 22 (1), Koul 9, Kosanovic 16 (1), Zahariou.

All-EuroCup Challenge 1st Team






Player of the Year: Nikita Shabalkin (204-F-86) of Samara
Guard of the Year: Patrick Lee (187-G-75) of Keravnos
Forward of the Year: Nikita Shabalkin of Samara
Center of the Year: Arthur Johnson (206-C/F-81) of Cherkasky
Import Player of the Year: Patrick Lee of Keravnos
European Player of the Year: Nikita Shabalkin of Samara
Defensive Player of the Year: Arthur Johnson of Cherkasky
Coach of the Year: Valery Tikhonenko of Samara

1st Team
Nikita Shabalkin of Samara
Omar Cook (186-G-82) of Samara
LeVar Seals (194-G-82) of C.Napoca
Patrick Lee of Keravnos
Donatas Zavackas (203-F-80) of Dnipro

2nd Team
Bernard King (196-G-81) of Keravnos
Arthur Johnson of Cherkasky
Chad Timberlake (193-G-84) of Mlekarna
Lamar Butler (187-G-83) of Prostejov
Petr Benda (203-F/C-82) of A Plus Brno

Honorable Mention
Kelvin Gibbs (200-F-78) of Samara
Ivan Perincic (208-F-77) of Mlekarna
Lewis Sims (203-F/C-73) of Olimpiada
Martin Muursepp (206-F-74) of Tartu Rock
Viktor Kobzisty (200-F-79) of Dnipro
Sasa Bratic (203-F/G-81) of Galil Elyon
Thomas Soltau (210-C/F-82) of Keflavik

All-Europeans Team
Nikita Shabalkin of Samara
Donatas Zavackas of Dnipro
Ivan Perincic of Mlekarna
Petr Benda of A Plus Brno
Martin Muursepp of Tartu Rock

All-Imports Team
Omar Cook of Samara
Patrick Lee of Keravnos
Bernard King of Keravnos
Arthur Johnson of Cherkasky
LeVar Seals of C.Napoca

Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2017 Eurobasket Inc. Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.