Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Men Women
Upcoming Events
Oct 21: POR: Proliga starts
Nov 26: MLT: Division 1 starts
Jun 30: Tarragona (ESP): Mediterranean Games starts

Fersu Yahyabeyoglu


Kostas Papadopoulos

Dimitris Katsionis


Uros Bajovic

Join Us!!! We are looking for someone to help us cover Euroleague basketball. Please send us an e-mail.
  1986-1987     Other seasons     1988-1989  

Philips Milan captain Michael D'Antoni with European Cup trophy
Tracer Milan 1987-1988
 Michael D'Antoni (G-51) (USA-ITA)
 Dino Meneghin (204-C-50)
 Bob McAdoo (USA)
 Ricky Brown (USA)
 Piero Montecchi (194-G-63)
 Riccardo Pittis (202-G/F-68)
 Roberto Premier (196-F/G-58)
 Massimiliano Aldi (202-F-67)
 Fabrizio Ambrassa (197-G-69)
 Fausto Bargna
 Sandro Chiodini
 Mario Governa
 Head Coach: Franco Casalini

After 30 years with the classic formula of home and away games, and since 1966 a single-game final on neutral ground, FIBA decided to change the competition format in 1988. At that time, only one team, the champion per country, the domestic champion, was eligible to play. After two eliminatory rounds and an eight-team third round, the top qualifiers advanced to the first Final Four, played from April 5 to 7 in Ghent, Belgium. Partizan Belgrade, with a very young Dusan Vujosevic on the bench directing Vlade Divac, Zarko Paspalj, Aleksandar Djordjevic, Goran Grbovic, Ivo Nakic, even Zeljko Obradovic, arrived with the top record, 10-4, ahead of the Aris Thessaloniki (9-5) of Nikos Gallis, Panagiotis Yannakis and Slobodan Subotic. Philips Milan was also third (9-5) with Franco Casalini on the bench leading players like Mike D'Antoni, Mike Brown, Dino Meneghin and Bob McAdoo. In fourth place was Maccabi Tel Aviv (8-6) with Doron Jamchy, Mickey Berkowitz, Kevin Magee, Motti Aroesti and Kenny Barlow. Barcelona (7-7), Saturn Cologne (5-9), Pau-Orthez (4-10) and Nashua Den Bosch (4-10) were the teams left out of the Final Four. In the final tournament, the experience of Milan's veterans prevailed over Maccabi's quality, Partizan's talent and Aris's individuality.
 By Euroleague
 FINAL FOUR: Gand, Belgium
 FINAL: Tracer Milan - Maccabi Tel-Aviv 90-84
 Tracer: McAdoo 25, D'Antoni 17, Brown 17, Meneghin 5, Premier 3; Pittis 8, Montecchi 8, Aldi 7
 Maccabi: Jamchy 24, Barlow 21, Simms 15, Magee 13, Aroesti 0; Cohen 6, Berkowitz 3, Daniel 2, Lippin 0
 THIRD PLACE: Partizan - Aris Thessaloniki 105-93 (48-39)
 Partizan: V. Divac 31, M. Pecarski 24, Z. Paspalj 23, G. Grbovic 11, A. Djordjevic 7, I. Nakic 7, Z. Obradovic 2, M. Savovic, O. Ignatovic, O. Popovic. Head Coach: Dusan Vujosevic
 Aris: N. Galis 39, L. Subotic 18, P. Yannakis 11, G. Wiltjer 10, M. Romanidis 7, N. Filipou 4, V. Lipiridis 4, P. Stamatis, D. Bousvaros, Y. Doxakis. Head coach: Iannis Ioannidis
 Final Four MVP:  Bob McAdoo (Tracer Milano)

Winner: Olimpia Tracer Milano (Italy): Bob McAdoo, Mike D'Antoni, Ricky Brown, Dino Meneghin, Roberto Premier, Riccardo Pittis, Piero Montecchi, Massimiliano Aldi, Fausto Bargna, Mario Governa, Fabrizio Ambrassa, Alessandro Chiodini (Coach: Franco Casalini)

Runner-up: Maccabi Tel Aviv (Israel): Kevin Magee, Ken Barlow, Willie Sims, Doron Jamchi, Mickey Berkowitz, Motti Aroesti, Motti Daniel, Hen Lippin, Itzhak Cohen, Gilad Katz, Greg Cornelius (Coach: Ralph Klein)

Third: Partizan Belgrade (Yugoslavia): Vlade Divac, Žarko Paspalj, Aleksandar Đorđević, Željko Obradović, Miroslav Pecarski, Ivo Nakić, Goran Grbović, Oliver Popović, Milenko Savović, Boris Orcev, Obrad Ignjatović, Slobodan Kanjevac, Dejan Lakićević, Vujadin Jović (Coach: Duško Vujošević)

Fourth: Aris Thessaloniki (Greece): Nikos Galis, Panagiotis Giannakis, Greg Wiltjer, Slobodan-Lefteris Subotić, Michalis Romanidis, Nikos Filippou, Vassilis Lipiridis, Petros Stamatis, Dimitris Bousvaros, Georgios Doxakis, Michail Misunov, Argiris Daliaris, Georgios Kasmeridis, Vangelis Athanasiadis (Coach: Ioannis Ioannidis)
 Philips Milan - Aris Thessaloniki 87-82 (45-45)
 Milan: B. McAdoo 39, R. Brown 28, D. Meneghin 7, P. Montecchi 5, R. Pittis 4, M. D'Antoni 2, R. Premier 2, M. Governa, M. Aldi, F. Bargna. Head Coach: Franco Casalini
 Aris: N. Galis 28, L. Subotic 23, P. Yannakis 15, N. Filipou 8, G. Wiltjer 6, V. Lipiridis 2, M. Romanidis, P. Stamatis, D. Bousvaros, Y. Doxakis. Head Coach: Iannis Ioannidis
 Maccabi Tel Aviv - Partizan Beograd 87-82 (43-44)
 Maccabi: K. Magee 34, W. Sims 18, K. Barlow 12, M. Aoresti 10, D. Jamchi 8, M. Daniel 3, M. Berkowitz 2, C. Lipin, G. Katz, I. Cohen. Head Coach: Ralph Klein
 Partizan: G. Grbovic 19, V. Divac 19, Z. Paspalj 18, M. Pecarski 8, Z. Obradovic 8, M. Savovic 6, A. Djordjevic 2, I. Nakic 2, O. Ignatovic, O. Popovic. Head Coach: Dusan Vujosevic
Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2017 Eurobasket Inc. Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.