Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Men Women
Malta Internationally
Not Available

Colin Schembri
Join Us!!! We are looking for someone to help us cover Maltese basketball. Please send us an e-mail.
  2010-2011     Other seasons     2012-2013  


Powerade League Standings
 1. Athleta 9-1 
 2. Floriana 6-4 
 3. Depiro 5-5 
 4. Siggiewi 5-5 
 5. Bupa 3-7 
 6. Loyola 2-8 
Season 2011-2012
All Games
List of Players
List of Imports

Athleta A-Z Electronics wins the Maltese Powerade League 2011-2012 title (Photo:

Athleta A-Z Electronics 2011-12
Dirk Schembri
Addison Bonnici
Steve Schembri
Michael Naudi
Omar Said
# Name CM (INCH) Pos Bo NAT
 Todorovic Marko 204 (6'9'') F/C 85 Serbia
 Schembri Dirk 193 (6'4'') F 85 Malta
 Bonnici Addison 195 (6'5'') F 84 Malta
 Schembri Steve 187 (6'2'') SF 79 Malta
 Naudi Michael 193 (6'4'') G/F 80 Malta
 Said Omar 177 (5'10'') PG 80 Malta
 Baldacchino Kristin-Paul 184 (6'1'') G 81 Malta
 Bugeja David 180 (5'11'') G 92 Malta
 Giusti Michael 161 (5'4'') G 93 Malta
 Buldakov I Malta

Athleta repeat as champions - May 1, 2012

Athleta - Depiro 87:54

Athleta defended their League title. They shot down Depiro in the third game of the championship series to sweep it. Dirk Schembri (193-F-85) stepped up with 22 points to pace the winners.
Athleta gained a comfortable lead in the opening quarter. They posted a 26:10 lead after ten minutes. Depiro stopped the rot in the second frame though. They narrowed the deficit at 14-point mark at the interval 30:44. But Athleta regained the tempo in the third stanza. The hosts unleashed 25 points to pile up a 26-point lead. Athleta never looked back afterwards cruising to the victory at the end. Marko Todorovic (204-F/C-85) knocked down 16 points, while Omar Said (177-PG-80) and Steve Schembri (187-SF-79) finished with 11 points each for the winners. Abraham Portelli (79) and Greg Hamlin (201-F-86, college: E.Tenn.St.) answered with 16 points each for Depiro.

Athleta: Dirk Schembri 22, Marko Todorovic 16, Omar Said 11, Steve Schembri 11
Depiro: Abraham Portelli 16, Greg Hamlin 16

Athleta clinch Louis Borg Cup title - Dec 5, 2011

Athleta kept on winning in all tournaments this season. Lately they claimed Louis Borg Cup title. Athleta held off Siggiewi 102:99 on aggregate. After beating Siggiewi in both SuperCup and MBA Shield Finals Athleta were looking for the third success this season. And it came in the opening game of the Finals. Athleta claimed a comprehensive 57:41 victory in the first game.
Siggiewi did not surrender and put on a decent fight in Game 2. Siggiewi built a 31:18 lead at halftime to threaten the margin. Athleta managed to narrow the gap in the third term. It all came down to the final seconds in this one but accurate free throws helped Athleta lose by just 13 points 45:58 and win the title on aggregate. Omar Said (177-G-80) fired 28 points in two games to lead the winners. Michael Naudi (193-G/F-80) added 18 points to the winning effort. Marko Matijevic (200-F-78) combined for 32 points for Siggiewi in the loss.

The national team beat the overseas selection in the All-Star Game - Jan 1, 2012

Three words can be used to describe the first edition of the MBA Christmas Bonanza solidarity, success and spectacular.

In front of a packed Ta Qali pavilion last Thursday, the Malta Basketball Association (MBA) collected the sum of 3,015 in aid of the Malta Community Chest Fund during an afternoon of basketball activities.

The programme kicked off with mini-basket matches and reached its climax with the All-Star game that saw the Maltese national team beating the foreign selection who ply their trade in local competitions.

Six clubs took part in the mini-basket series Starlites, Hibs, Athleta, Siggiewi, Depiro and Loyola. They fielded teams in the U-8 and U-10 categories.

Another event in programme was the womens All-Star game.

This match pitted against each other the Malta national team, coached by Sandro Farrugia, and a National League selection led by Charles Bonnici which also included foreign players Lena Gipson and Alexandra Ratomska.

The Maltese team led by nine points at half-time, 30-21, and succeeded in retaining the lead until the final buzzer to win 52-49.

A much-awaited game was that between coaches and referees.

Joe Coleiro was in charge of the match officials team while Val Drury mentored the coaches side. This match was officiated by Siggiewi BC president David Agius and Athleta club secretary Edmund Farrugia.

The game, played on two sessions of ten minutes running time, was won by the coaches 15-13 but the brightest note was the friendly atmosphere that reigned among both sides.

Meanwhile, the veterans game had the likes of Kevin Decesare, Ivan Attard, Ivan Micallef, Ivan Grech, Paul Sultana, John Tabone, Joe Galea and Raphael Aloisio making their showing on court.

The match of the day was the All-Star game between the mens national team, under the guidance of coach Paolo Di Fonzo, and the overseas players.

The Maltese were leading by 14 points at the start of the third session, 45-31 but the overseas selection soon got back on level terms, 45-45.

In the end, however, it was the national team that claimed the honours as they won the final session 16-10 to run out 61-55 winners.

Loyolas US player Rashanti Harris (203-PF-89) won the slam dunk competition after a series of powerful and spectacular shots.

Courtesy of

Athleta retain SuperCup title - Oct 6, 2011

Athleta - Siggiewi 59:54

Athleta clinched the SuperCup trophy. They defended the title after beating Siggiewi. Omar Said (177-G-80) stepped up with 16 points to pace the winners. It was a close battle from start to finish. The teams stayed close throughout the first half. Athleta eked out a 32:29 lead at the interval. Siggiewi would not go away. They cut the deficit to just two points late in regulation. However Athleta played sank three free throws in the crucial moment to seal the victory. Marko Matijevic (200-F-78) responded with 16 points for Siggiewi.

Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2017 Eurobasket Inc. Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.