Sign in
View: Mobile | Desktop
FOLLOW US:  Facebook  Twitter  LinkedIn  RSS
Men Women
Malta Internationally
Not Available
Join Us!!! We are looking for someone to help us cover Maltese basketball. Please send us an e-mail.

Division 1 Standings
 1. Athleta 0-0 
 2. Bupa 0-0 
 3. Cynergi 0-0 
 4. Hibs Sen 0-0 
 5. Starlites 0-0 
Stats Leaders
Points Per Game
 Marko Todorovic27.00 
 Nathan Walkup -26.50 
 Omar Said -23.33 
 Micheal Naudi -23.00 
 Chad Patus -20.00 
Rebounds Per Game
 Chad Patus -17.67 
 Marco Todorovic -16.00 
 Nathan Walkup -13.00 
 Michael Naudi -9.33 
 Anton Axiaq -8,50 
Assists Per Game
 Michael Naudi -5.67 
 David Bugeja -5.50 
 Chad Patus -5.33 
 Roderick Vella -5.33 
 Timothy Zammit -4.00 
Steals Per Game
 Andrew Aquilina -4.00 
 Roderick Vella -4.00 
 Nathan Walkup -3.50 
 David Bugeja -3.00 
 Omar Said -3.00 

First Round Schedule
Athleta 50% Nov.26 Hibs Sen
Starlites 50% Nov.26 Bupa
Check Full Games/Schedule
Virtus and Floriana to contest the league finals - Apr 4, 2016

E-mail Colin:
Colin's Articles

David Bugeja
Gira Athleta 77
Falken Cynergi Virtus 89
(21-28) (10-20) (22-21) (24-20)

Athleta ended a run of 14 consecutive finals as they lost their second encounter to champions Falken Cynergi Virtus 89-77. It was a hard season for Joe Galea's men as they had to struggle till the end with missing players and injuries. For their last crucial game, Roderick Vella was missing again and they had to do without Michael Naudi as well. Athleta had the opening points but Virtus replied with treys by Peter Shoults and David Bugeja (180-SG-92). Athleta replied with a 7-2 run with points from Matthew Gouder and Lee Fisher (198-F-89, college: Chicago St.) Virtus took the lead once more, but Athleta replied again with an 8-2 run. This was the last time they were in front as champions ended the period with a 10-0 run including a Jacob Formsa triple. In the second period, Virtus went on for a strong 13-2 run with more treys by Formosa and Chris Santo (196-F, college: St.Anselm). Their aggressive defence was too much for Athleta and at the interval Virtus were leading 48-31. After the break, Fisher netted consecutive points for Athleta however on the other side Santo had his share of points as well as Virtus maintained their comfortable advantage. Shawn Pace and David Bugeja netted treys for Virtus as they went for the last quarter leading 69-53. Athleta's last effort in the final session saw them putting a 13-0 run with more Fisher points and a Zammit trey. They managed to reduce the lead to just 6 points 66-72 but Virtus replied with two 7-2 runs to secure a winning advantage once more to make it to the final for the second consecutive year.

Gira Athleta: M. Naudi, M. Gouder 16, F. Mifsud Bonnici, D. Wiersum, L. Stefanovic, I. Buldakov 3, B. Zammit 13, A. Micallef 11, N. Lubrano 5, S. Vincic, M. Gauchi Montaldo, L. Fisher 29.
Falken Cynergi Virtus: S. Pace 5, D. Bugeja 16, R. Bonnici 6, D. Camilleri, S. Bonnici, J. Formosa 12, A. Felice Pace, C. Santo 40, L. Sobers, F. Bartolo, P. Shoults 10, T. Grech.
Referees: Bernard Vassallo, Alfred Carbonaro, Emanuel Mangani.

Bupa Luxol 67
Floriana Cafe Del Mar 94
(14-17) (8-21) (18-30) (27-26)

Floriana Cafe Del Mar will be Virtus' opponents for this year's finals as they obtained the required victory against Bupa Luxol 94-67. Luxol began the game with treys from William Ahlberg and Jean Paul Schembri before a 10-2 run from Floriana. Luxol tied the score 10-10 before a Chad Patus (203-F-87, college: Belm.Abbey) trey for Floriana who closed the session in front 17-14. Floriana opened the second session with an 8-0 run to increase their lead. Luxol replied with points from CJ Cordina and Jean Paul Bonnici but there was another 13-3 run by Floriana who were leading 38-22 at the interval. After the break there was a Bonnici triple for Luxol however Floriana replied strongly as they made a 17-2 run with points from Nigel Sultana (191-F-91), Anton Axiaq and a Nikola Vasovic triple. CJ Cordina had 8 points for Luxol but then Floriana had a series of treys from Vasovic, Lee Ross and Nick Andrejevic to increase their lead to 28 points 68-40. In the last quarter, the result was secure for Floriana as points came regularly on both sides. Both coaches fielded their bench players for the last minutes as Floriana won the game 94-67.

Bupa Luxol: CJ Cordina 22, M. Mercieca 2,J. Willoughby 12, S. Visser, J. Maistre Mellilo, J.P. Schembri 5, K. Dimech 3, T. Paris 4, JP Bonnici 7, W. Ahlberg 12.
Floriana Cafe Del Mar: C. Patus 13, L. Ross 8, N. Sultana 13, S. Borg 12, A. Portelli, N. Vasovic 14, C. Calleja 10, A. Axiaq 10, A. Micallef Trigona 8, N. Andrejevic 6.
Referees: Bernard Vassallo, Gordon Barbara, Alfred Carbonaro.


Luxol's Vasovic lauds team composure after Super Cup triumph - 5 days ago
Reigning champions BUPA Luxol set off the new season, played in the newly refurbished Ta' Qali basketball complex, on a high note winning the St James Hospital Super Cup, for the ninth time in history, eight years after their last trophy success in 2009. Both teams were wary of each other at the start of the final with points coming hard to come by. One of Hibs' new signings, Roderick Vella (ex-Gzira Athleta) opened the game's account with one shot from two from the charity line only to b...   [read more]

Kyle Meyer
Kyle Meyer signs at Bupa - 1 month ago
Defending champion Bupa Luxol (Division 1) landed 24-year old American center Kyle Meyer (208-104kg-93, agency: KMG Sports Management). He just graduated from Houston (NCAA). In 32 games he averaged only 2.3ppg and 3.6rpg last season. As mentioned above Meyer is just out of the college and it will be his first season in pro basketball. Among other achievements he played in the final of NJCAA D1 District VIII in 2015. Meyer received also All-MPBA 1st Team award in 2016 at his...   [read more]

T.Hesperange tabs Pierce Cumpstone, ex Bupa - 2 months ago
Telstar Hesperange (N2) inked 23-year old American forward Pierce Cumpstone (203-88kg-94, college: Stonehill). He played most recently at Bupa in Maltese Division 1. He helped them to win the league title (twice). Cumpstone received CoSIDA NCAA Division II Academic All-District 1 1st Team award in 2016 at his college time. Cumpstone graduated from Stonehill College in 2016 and it will be his second season in pro basketball. Telstar Hesperange roster for 2017-2018: Guards: Tom Donnersbac...   [read more]

1 | 2 | 3
1 | 2 | 3

Site Map: Member Services: Other Basketball Sites:
Copyright (c) 1998-2017 Eurobasket Inc. Disclaimer

Do not copy, redistribute, publish or otherwise exploit information that you download from the site !
Do not encumber, license, modify, publish, sell, transfer or transmit, or in any way exploit, any of the content of the site, nor will you attempt to do so.